What is CultureTrav?

CultureTrav Hosts
CultureTrav, launched in November 2014, is a weekly Twitter chat where travelers can share perspectives and listen to stories from other fellow travelers. The founder, Nicolette of Culture With Travel, said she started the chat because she always enjoyed hearing how people personally experience travel, especially in regards to topics like cultural similarities and differences, language gaps, trying new things (i.e. alternate cuisines), developing friendships on the road, and much more. Get to know her in this interview. I became an official co-host in February 2015. Clare Hancock from Immersion Travel Magazine joined in March 2017.

Whether you’re a seasoned traveler, a nomad, an expat, enjoy traveling alone or with family/friends, or even just leisurely, part-time travel, you’ll surely have great tips to share with others. See where other CultureTrav chatters are based around the world!

Details

Thursdays
PT 11:30 (11:30 a.m.)
EST 14:30 (2:30 p.m.)
UK (GMT/UTC) 19:30 (7:30 p.m.)
CET 20:30 (8:30 p.m.)
GST 23:30 (11:30 p.m.)
IST 00:00 (12:00 a.m. – midnight)

Easy Steps to Join

1. Follow @nicolette_o, @JLipowski, @TravelSustains, and the #CultureTrav hashtag for chat announcements/new questions every week.
2. Join us on Thursdays for the chat!
3. Use the #CultureTrav hashtag in every tweet. This way others can always see your valuable advice (even when the chat ends)
4. Feel free to invite friends/family to join, and RT anything you personally find interesting.
5. Want to suggest a (future) topic? Want to be a guest co-host? Direct message us on Twitter.

Read my in-depth guide on what a Twitter chat is and how it works.

Next Topic
22 June 2017: “Exploration”
Q1: Share one of your favorite travel photos that best illustrates exploration! #CultureTrav
Q2: Share one of your favorite ways to explore a new culture! Have a pic? #CultureTrav
Q3: What is your favorite city to explore, and why? Have a pic? #CultureTrav
Q4: Who are your favorite explorers? Who would you meet, if you could travel back in time? How have they inspired your travels? #CultureTrav
Q5: How can you best maximize your time to explore when you are on a tight schedule? Share your tips! #CultureTrav
Q6: Which countries would you still like to explore, or explore again? Share some of the ones on your wanderlist! #CultureTrav

Past Topics
8 June 2017: “Airlines”
1 June 2017: “Authenticity”
25 May 2017: “Food”
18 May 2017: NO CHAT
11 May 2017: “Reflections”
See other past topics.